Ernest Scott Prize

This prestigious prize, worth approximately $13,000, is awarded to original published research that contributes to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation in these countries.

Application dates

Applications are currently closed

Application type

Application required
How to apply

Benefit type

Single payment
Full benefit details

Citizenship requirements

Australian / domestic student
International student

Total value

up to $13,000

Applicable study areas

Historical, philosophical, political and social studies

Number of scholarships awarded


  • Michelle Arrow
    "I was thrilled to have been shortlisted for the Ernest Scott Prize alongside three wonderful historians whose work I admire very much. I am honoured and delighted to have been chosen as the 2020 winner. This book had its genesis in my curiosity about the Royal Commission on Human Relationships, which was a ground-breaking inquiry into family and intimate life initiated by the Whitlam government. The Commission had been overlooked by historians to date (and forgotten by many who lived through the decade), but it offered a window onto the social change of the 1970s, and a new way to examine that history."
    - Michelle Arrow
  • Eligibility & selection criteria


    To be eligible for this scholarship, you need to:

    • have published original research on the history of Australia/New Zealand (edited or republished works are not eligible)
    • live in Australia or New Zealand or the respective external territories

    Recipients are required to:

    • accept award online within 21 days
    • the winner will be invited to attend the announcement at the Kathleen Fitzpatrick Lecture at the University of Melbourne
    • the winner will also be invited to present the 'Ernest Scott Lecture' at the University of Melbourne

    Selection criteria

    Work must:

    • be based upon original research, which is, in the opinion of the judges, the most distinguished contribution to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation in these countries
    • have been published during the two calendars years immediately prior to the first day of January of the year in which it is to be awarded
    • be entered by publishers. Authors are advised to request their publishers to enter their books on their behalf if they wish to enter

    Read about the 2020 award-winning publication The Seventies: The Personal, The Political and the Making of Modern by Professor Michelle Arrow here.  A full list of past winners can be found here.

  • Application process

    publishers should:

    • submit an online application form
    • mail a copy of the book to each of the two judges. The postal addresses will be supplied via email alert after the online entry form has been successfully submitted
    • attach a cover page to each book stating the publisher, publisher contact name, position, email address, contact phone number, book details, author, date published and ISBN number.

    Books submitted will not be returned.

  • When will I know the outcome?

    Publishers of shortlisted works will be contacted by the Faculty of Arts. The winner will be announced at the Kathleen Fitzpatrick Lecture.

  • About the donor

    Emily Scott

    Emily Scott founded this prize to perpetuate the memory of her husband Emeritus Professor Sir Ernest Scott, KB.

    Ernest Scott was Professor of History at the University for Melbourne for 23 years, from 1913-1936. The prize commemorates his interest in the development of Australian historical studies.

    Born outside wedlock, raised by his grandparents and enjoying no higher education, he worked as a journalist for 20 years. As a young Fabian and Theosophist, he married the daughter of Annie Besant and migrated to Melbourne in 1892.

    His books on Australian exploration history made Scott into a professional among amateurs and antiquarians. He inspired his students to do archival research and to ask critical questions of popular historical mythologies.

    A generation of young Australians learned about the country's past from his notable Short History of Australia (1916).

What are the benefits?

Approximately $13,000


Legal (PDF)

Interested in a scholarship? Register now

Get more on scholarships and other information to help you succeed at the University of Melbourne.

International: +61 3 9035 5511

For complete listings of faculty-specific scholarships, please see individual faculty websites.

The information listed here is subject to change without notice. Where we have listed information about jointly run scholarships programs, please also see our partners' websites. Information describing the number and value of scholarships awarded is indicative.